Subir Chowdhury

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Subir Chowdhury

icon-linkedin icon-twitter_31x31

Creator of LEO® (Listen – Enrich – Optimize) Breakthrough Management Process
Author of “The Difference”



Subir Chowdhury is the Chairman and CEO of ASI Consulting Group. He is a career quality and systems engineer. He works with all teams and provides leadership during planning and implementation. Subir’s expertise is in Design For Six Sigma (DFSS) and LEO® (Listen, Enrich, Optimize). He regularly advises CEOs and senior leadership in how to achieve bottom line results. Subir has been ranked among world’s top 50 thinkers since 2011 by Thinkers50, a nonprofit global organization that issues a biennial ranking of management thinkers based on their contribution toward the advancement of business management.

Official Biography: Click here
For more insight, Subir was recently profiled in a biographical retrospect that appeared in the weekend Edition of Prothom Alo, the leading newspaper in Bangladesh. The article is titled: “Quality-guru Subir Chowdhury: From Chittagong to America”

Official Site:

Books Authored:

Subir authored 15 books and his books have sold more than a million copies and translated in more than 20 different languages world wide. His books are:

  • 2017 – The Difference: When Good Enough Isn’t Enough (Penguin Random House)
  • 2016 – Robust Optimization: World’s Best Practices for Developing Winning Vehicles (Wiley)
  • 2011 – The Power of LEO (McGraw-Hill)
  • 2005 – The Ice Cream Maker (Doubleday, Random House)
  • 2004 – Next Generation Business Handbook (Wiley)
  • 2004 – Taguchi’s Quality Engineering Handbook (Wiley) coauthored with Dr. Genichi Taguchi and Yuin Wu
  • 2002 – The Power of Design For Six Sigma (Kaplan Professional)
  • 2002 – Organization 21C (Financial Times Prentice Hall)
  • 2002 – Design For Six Sigma (Kaplan Professional)
  • 2002 – The Talent Era (Financial Times Prentice Hall)
  • 2001 – The Power of Six Sigma (Dearborn Trade)
  • 2000 – The Mahalanobis-Taguchi System (McGraw-Hill) coauthored with Dr. Genichi Taguchi and Yuin Wu
  • 1999 – Management 21C (Financial Times Prentice Hall)
  • 1999 – Robust Engineering (McGraw-Hill) coauthored with Dr. Genichi Taguchi and Shin Taguchi
  • 1996 – QS-9000 Pioneers (Irwin McGraw-Hill) coauthored with Ken Zimmer


  • Outstanding American by Choice Award U.S. Government, DHS/USCIS First Michigan person ever to be distinguished with this most prestigious honor from the U.S. Government. Recipients display exceptional accomplishments through professional achievements and leadership, civic participation, responsible citizenship, and demonstrate outstanding commitment to the United States while embodying the values and ideals that are inherent to this country, and within each of its citizens.
  • U.S. Certificate of Congressional Recognition U.S. Senate
  • U.S. Certificate of Congressional Record 109th U.S. Congress
  • Certificate of Tribute by the Honorable Governor, State of Michigan
  • Hall of Fame for Engineering, Science and Technology (world level)
  • International Technology Institute (ITI)
  • Philip B. Crosby Medal given by the ASQ (American Society of Quality) – First recipient of this international medal
  • SME Gold Medal presented by the SME (Society of Manufacturing Engineers)
  • Henry Ford II Distinguished Award for Excellence in Automotive Engineering awarded by the SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers)
  • Honorary Doctorate of Engineering, Michigan Technological University, USA
  • Willard F. Rockwell Medal for excellence in technology (ITIs highest recognition)
  • William P. Koth Award, awarded by the ASQ (ASQ Automotive Divisions highest recognition)
  • Distinguished Alumni Award, Central Michigan University (CMU)
  • U.S. Certificate of Congressional Record 105th U.S. Congress
  • Certificate of Commendation by the Honorable Governor State of Michigan
  • McDermond III Award for Management Excellence presented by the ASQ
  • Audie Award Nomination selected by the APA (Audio Publishers Association)
  • Young Leadership and Excellence Award presented by the Automotive Hall of Fame
  • Ralph E. Cross Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award given by SME
  • Judson C. Jarvis Service Award presented by the American Society for Quality
  • 40 under 40 honored by Crain’s Detroit Business.
  • Golden Quill Award presented by the American Society for Quality for authorship.
  • Whos Who in America by the Marquis Whos Who Publication Board.
  • Whos Who in the World by the Marquis Whos Who Publication Board.
  • Honorary Member, World Innovation Foundation
  • Honorary Member, International Technology Institute
  • Fellow, Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)
  • Fellow, Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)
  • Fellow, American Society for Quality (ASQ)
  • Fellow, Royal Statistical Society United Kingdom
  • Fellow, Quality Society Australia
  • Fellow, Engineering Society of Detroit (ESD)